Home » Uncategorized » Music…what happened to you? You used to be so cool

Music…what happened to you? You used to be so cool

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other subscribers

Categories

Warning – a couple of swears…

 

I love music. I’ve loved it ever since I can remember and eventually I learned to play it and also to write it. I couldn’t ever imagine going through the rest of my life without music.

That being said, I admit that I haven’t a clue as to what is happening in music today and sadly, I don’t care.

The reason? It’s because I find much of it…well, boring.

Don’t get mad – I didn’t say crappy – I said boring. I find it boring, like listening to Ben Stein give a lecture on macro economics or watching “America’s Got Talent.”

Now, that’s just me. I mean, I’ve tried to give it a chance. I’ve listened. I just don’t find any of it particularly interesting.

Well, you say, that’s because you haven’t listened to enough it. You can’t make an informed decision.

Fair enough. You’re right. Maybe I haven’t listened to enough of it. That’s because I find it as boring as a Latin church sermon and I begin to nod off after a few bars.

I know – I’m an old dinosaur who just doesn’t get it but you have to remember that when I was growing up, I was shaped and influenced by a decade of some of the most ground-breaking music ever created. The seventies was when I was first really made aware of how awesome music could be. It was quite simply a decade of inventiveness, musical ability and an insane amount of God given talent.

Think about it for a minute.

First, forget about disco and AM gold, okay? Every decade has its share of drivel. Take a good look at what was really happening. At the beginning of the decade you had the tail end of the Beatles who were quite possibly (no, definitely) the most influential and innovative band of all time. What they accomplished in the studio set the template for what was to follow. In the seventies there was good old rock and roll, art and progressive rock, heavy metal, folk rock, glam rock, reggae, punk, new wave – so many genres, too many to list. And the thing is, you really had to know your stuff. You had to know how to play. No computers back then, no drum loops, no samples.

And if you couldn’t play, then tough shit. Get lost. Put the guitar down and slowly back away from the rack. Even the punk rockers had to know how to put together rudimentary chords and progressions. I remember the first time I ever heard Queen’s “Bohemian Rhapsody.” Once I got over that initial “what in the name of God is this?” moment, I was floored by its incredible originality. Led Zeppelin took the blues by the balls and created a whole new genre of rock and roll. Bands like Supertramp, Genesis, Pink Floyd and Yes were creating mini masterpieces that exploded with clever chord and melodic progressions which would quite often make the hair on the back of my neck stand up. To this day when the haunting piano chords come in at the end of “Crime of the Century,” I still get shivers. What prog nut doesn’t play air organ during “Carry On Wayward Son” or “Roundabout” or shred along to Eddie Van Halen during “Eruption?” I’d love to hear someone try to program a drum machine to sound like Neil Peart of Rush. If the drum machine was self aware, it would say “Fuck this shit” and unplug itself.

What happened to all the exciting songs? What happened to all the talented musicians? Why is everything boring now?

Last year, some researchers in Spain, who I assume were really friggin’ bored, decided to break down a ton of songs from the last fifty years into lyrical and musical data that could be run through a series of complex algorithms so they could analyze it.

What they found was that over that last fifty years, while music has consistently gotten louder, the chord structures and melodies have become less diverse and more homogenous.

Less diverse and more homogenous…that means “the same” and that equals boring.

How mind-numbing must this music be for scientists, who are generally acknowledged as some of the most yawn inducing stiffs on the planet, to find it dull and uninteresting.

Wow. Good job pop music – way to suck hard at being interesting and cool.

I refuse to lose hope, however. One can only hope that one day soon, the three or four individuals, who I am convinced are responsible for writing just about all this drek, will either move on or maybe just bore themselves to death.

Perhaps a musical messiah, one who can actually play an instrument and has listened to a Beatles song or two, will come forward to lead us all back into a bygone era of great, catchy songs – a sonic landscape of verses, choruses, middle eights and guitar solos, a vista of dynamics, lyrical integrity, and melodies – yes, actual melodies that have more than eight notes, six of which are the same.

It could happen…couldn’t it?

Ah screw it, where’s my Neil Finn CD?

And don’t get me started on autotune…


12 Comments

  1. So I take it that Justin Beiber CD I was going to get you is not a good idea, huh? 😉

    Won’t get an argument from me when it comes to the Beatles and Peter Gabriel. I do have some pop music on my I-pod, sometimes you just want a hamburger instead of filet mignon….although I don’t like burgers or steak…but I think you get my metaphor. Problem is, everything sounds the same now, there is nothing unique.

    I did watch the Voice and I enjoyed it, however, the singer I wanted to win, didn’t, she was different—Michelle Shamuel—-and I would buy her music, but the winner was good, but sounded like every other singer.

    Same could be said about books. What happened to them? Sparkling vampires outsold books with the same theme that were tons better. It’s an age of mass mentality.

    My profound thoughts for the day.

  2. Fantastic post! With the exception of the Beatles, you really read my mind on my thoughts of music today. I am more of a Johnny Cash fan rather than the Beatles but I can acknowledge their amazing contribution to music. My friends are used to getting a bit of musical education when they ride in my car. I don’t even listen to the radio anymore because it all sounds the same and the “musicians” are not musically inclined. Thank goodness for the classics!

    • Dan McNeil says:

      Thanks Colleen. When my daughter was very young I used to play bands like Supertramp, Genesis, Beatles and Crowded House among others – essentially anything that had strong musical structure. To this day she loves this kind of stuff and I’m pretty proud of it. They’re called classics for a reason.

  3. heidi1820 says:

    Dan, Great Post!! I have always loved music and I do believe there is some good in the music of today. You just have to dig through a lot of crap to find it. What was great about the late 60-80s’ is that no one really knew what it was suppose to be. That was the beauty of it. Artists wrote and sang from the heart and you’re right, they had to know how to play. As time went on, it was all about what would sell and who had the perfect package to deliver it. Video did kill the radio star. Pop today is full of little girl voices and self loathing emo’s in skinny jeans. I do come across modern talent and can appreciate it when I hear it. But it still doesn’t give me the same rush I feel when I hear the beginning of More Than a Feeling . There’s a bumper sticker that says “It’s not that I’m old, your music really does suck” I have to get that one day 🙂

    • Dan McNeil says:

      You’re right Heidi. Great music has been diminished over the years by image, Talent is practically unnecessary (why have talent when everything can be fixed by Pro Tools?) and there is very little heart in most songs these days. That’s why I love the older songs. I still get a thrill from the opening guitar arpeggios in “Spirit of the Radio.”

  4. Diane DF says:

    Hi Dan, I found your blog through Selena. I believe you and I are of a similar age as I became a teen during the 70’s. Part of me wonders if the diversity of music during that time was one of those great cosmic happenings. That the forces of nature and society threw together all this talent. But that depresses me because, like you, I can’t imagine my life without music and hope to keep hearing good music.

    I will say that I think the dearth of interesting music is due, in part, to a couple of things. One, we are becoming, every day, more and more like Orwell’s 1984. Not only do we look to the internet and reality shows to be told what we should like, we allow this electronic beast to compose the music for us. Which leads me to the second problem, lack of time, energy, and effort. There have been some troubling studies lately on how computer usage changes young brains, especially attention span. Why take the time to experience Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon when you can click on a jillion ITunes in the meantime? How many people take the time to seek out original music if they can even find a live venue? Without doing any advertisements, I will say that I love my satellite radio in the car. I am an old metal head-banging chick and try to listen to the new metal channel on a regular basis to support new bands doing music that evolved from Zeppelin, Judas Priest, etc. There is some good interesting music out there but you have to search for it. And anytime my husband and I go to see one of our dinosaur bands, I am always pleased by how many young people I see in the crowd. Hopefully one of them feels the spark and finds a way to get their music out there.

    Lastly, I want to thank you for mentioning Queen, my all time favorite band, whom I was lucky enough to meet in 1982, outside a gay bar in downtown Philadelphia. (It’s a long story.) Long live Rock-n-Roll!

  5. Dan McNeil says:

    Hey Diane – nice to meet you. I think you hit upon an excellent point. No one “experiences” music anymore. Remember putting on Pink Floyd and listening to it with headphones (not necessarily aided by any mind altering aides)? The music and sound effects – the whole sonic palette swirled around your head. It was an experience, and that kind of thing is lost these days. It’s very sad. I bring my 16 year old daughter to as many concerts as I can and because of that (and playing the crap out of my classic rock collection) she has a huge appreciation for it. She numbers Queen as one of her favourite bands (along with Styx, AC/DC, Genesis and the Beatles)

  6. ladybug says:

    I totally agree. There just aren’t any songs today that are written up to the level of “Elvira” by the Oak Ridge Boys (at its best as heard via 8 track). Oh, they may try, but they’ll never reach that pinnacle of lyrical perfection.

    I should probably note that, while I spent my formative years in the hair band decade of the 80’s, I missed it all because I grew up in a household that allowed no non-hymn music. I was finally introduced the the pure awesome that was a lot of 80’s music when I was in college (dirty hair 90’s). I have the strangest collection of Pandora stations ever because of this.

  7. Dan McNeil says:

    When my dad left Imperial Oil in the 70’s he was given an 8 track tape maker as a going away present. Looking back at it now, maybe they were pissed off he was leaving. The 80’s was an interesting decade – I began playing in bands in 1981. There were a ton of synth bands and a lot of them sounded the same (probably because they all used the same kind of synths), but there were a lot of great tunes and bands too.

  8. Darcia Helle says:

    Brilliant post, Dan! I came into my teen years during the ’70s, and since then absolutely nothing has measured up. Computerized music has no feeling, no depth, and none of those beautiful flaws. I have kept up with the evolution of music and do like some of the ‘modern’ music. But nothing comes close to Robert Plant’s vocals. Brian May’s guitar work, or the absolute mind-altering experience of Pink Floyd. Even my sons (both in their 20s) listen to classic rock. At least I did something right in my parenting. 🙂

  9. Dan McNeil says:

    Hey Darcia – You’re right – nothing comes close to those performances. I could listen to David Gilmour all day. Both my daughters love classic rock too, especially my 16 year old – her favorite guitar player? Brian May. So cool.

  10. Darcia Helle says:

    She has great taste! With some luck, our generation of kids will bring back those great sounds.

Leave a comment